Dawgs earn individual awards

uwlogo1The Pac-10 Men’s Basketball awards were announced today, and the Huskies came away big winners.  Forward Jon Brockman and guard Justin Dentmon were named to the All-Pac-10 First Team, while Dentmon also took home the Most Improved Player Award; guard Isaiah Thomas was named Freshman of the Year, and was also named to the All-Pac-1o Second Team; and head coach Lorenzo Romar garnered Pac-10 Coach of the Year honors.

The Dawgs can add the individual awards to the their trophy case just two days after capturing an outright Pac-10 championship, their first in 56 years.

Prior the start of the season, only Brockman was considered a frontrunner for any of these awards.  He upheld the predictions by averaging 14.8 points per game, and 11.5 rebounds per game. Dentmon, who endured two tumultuous seasons at UW following a stellar freshman campaign, improved dramatically in this, his senior.  He upped his scoring average nearly six points from a year ago to 15.3 points per game, thanks in large part to his 43.2% shooting from beyond the arc.  Thomas, in his first year, bested the likes of more heralded recruits DeMar Derozan (USC) and Jrue Holiday (UCLA) to take home Freshman of the Year honors; his 15.4 points per game led the Huskies.

Lorenzo Romar took a Washington ballclub that went 7-11 in conference play a year ago, and led them to a 14-4 finish this season.  The Pac-10 championship helped seal Romar’s fate as tops among conference head coaches.

Finally, guard Venoy Overton garnered honorable mention on the All-Pac-10 Defensive Team.

The rest of the award recipients are as follows:

All-Pac-10 First Team

  • Jon Brockman, Washington, F
  • Chase Budinger, Arizona, F
  • Patrick Christopher, California, G
  • Darren Collison, UCLA, G
  • Justin Dentmon, Washington, G
  • James Harden, Arizona State, G
  • Jordan Hill, Arizona, F
  • Jeff Pendergraph, Arizona State, F
  • Jerome Randle, California, G
  • Taylor Rochestie, Washington State, G

All-Pac-10 Second Team

  • Taj Gibson, USC, F
  • Daniel Hackett, USC, G
  • Josh Shipp, UCLA, G
  • Isaiah Thomas, Washington, G
  • Nic Wise, Arizona, G

All-Pac-10 Honorable Mention

  • Alfred Aboya, UCLA, F
  • Anthony Goods, Stanford, G
  • Calvin Haynes, Oregon State, G
  • Lawrence Hill, Stanford, F
  • Roeland Schaftenaar, Oregon State, F

All-Freshman Team

  • DeAngelo Casto, Washington State, F
  • DeMar Derozan, USC, G/F
  • Jeremy Green, Stanford, G
  • Jrue Holiday, UCLA, G
  • Isaiah Thomas, Washington, G
  • Klay Thompson, Washington State, G

All-Freshman Team Honorable Mention

  • Kyle Fogg, Arizona, G

All-Defensive Team

  • Alfred Aboya, UCLA, F
  • Darren Collison, UCLA, G
  • Taj Gibson, USC, F
  • Daniel Hackett, USC, G
  • Jordan Hill, Arizona, F

All-Defensive Team Honorable Mention

  • Venoy Overton, Washington, G
  • Jeff Pendergraph, Arizona State, F
  • Seth Tarver, Oregon State, G/F

Pac-10 Player of the Year: James Harden

Pac-10 Freshman of the Year: Isaiah Thomas

Pac-10 Defensive Player of the Year: Taj Gibson

Pac-10 Most Improved Player: Justin Dentmon

Pac-10 Coach of the Year: Lorenzo Romar

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s